Midlife writer attempts acting class

So here’s the deal. I’ve returned to college—at age 53—to study acting. No. I don’t expect to land a role on Desperate Housewives (I could never lose that much weight.) or to become Ron Howard’s next great discovery (but, Ron, if you want me to audition for anything, please call me). I just want to understand more about the film industry, and so I figured this would help round-out my education. 

In my acting classes, I am one of three people who could buy beer without being carded, if you know what I mean. The rest of the students are still at that age where they think showing off their boxer shorts or getting a tongue ring proves them rebellious. (Rebellious, kids, is when you’ve gone out and busted your behinds for, and then later thumbed your nose at, corporate America. And you’re willing to live for the rest of your life on peanut butter and Ramen noodles if it means you’ll never have to go back there.)  

Anyway, I thought I’d share this adventure with anyone who cares to follow along with me. So I’m going to chronicle my course in this blog. Maybe what I’ll write will be funny. Maybe it will be heartbreaking. I can’t say, for sure. But I promise it will be true. None of that James Frey stuff, here. I won’t embellish anything for the sake of making a better story.  

2 Comments

Filed under acting, entertainment, film and TV, humor, writing

2 responses to “Midlife writer attempts acting class

  1. actingchick

    Acting classes are weird. You are asked to do weird things that if someone one the street asked you to do them, you would call the cops. Still, it can be fun. I look forward to reading about your experiences. Good luck!

  2. Good for you. I was the most mature and shall we say curviest, most insulated member in my salsa class last fall. I looked around and realized that I’d become That Woman who always seemed to be in my college classes the first time around. The one who sits in the front row and screws the curve for everyone else. Have a blast! Michele:)

Leave a Reply

