Acting Class, Day 7: A baby’s first word

Did you know that vowel sounds are determined by the shape of the lips and the placement of the jaws and tongue? To tell you the truth, I was only about 8 months old when I first started making them (while drooling with a baby rattle in my mouth)—so I never really paid much attention to the process. Possibly I was too busy trying to learn the word “hey” to care.  

Do you ever wonder why we learn to say “ma-ma” and “da-da,” first, when “hey” will summon anyone within earshot? It’s a very efficient word. If you have a baby, you might want to consider working with him or her on this.  These are the kinds of thoughts I have during diction class. But I’ve digressed.  

Frequently, we say the word “hey” in class. I’ve got that one mastered, now, I think. We bend at the waist and look through our parted legs at our neighbor’s noggin and say, “Hey, hey, hey, hey.” It might be “hay, hay, hay, hay.” The instructor hasn’t specified. Maybe I should ask.

1 Comment

Filed under acting, comedians, entertainment, film and TV, humor, Uncategorized

One response to “Acting Class, Day 7: A baby’s first word

  1. Holds belly and laughs as usual..I never drink anything when I read your blog, cause I know it would be on the screen at some point were I to make that error in judgment. Hey!

Leave a Reply

