Totally Skewed: Truth in Packaging

 

 

Warning: Rant alert

 

 

 

I’m asking for a new consumer protection law; let’s call it the “Truth in Packaging Law.” And I’d like to see it enforced right away, beginning with staple food items—like potato chips. If I’m going to pay $3.99 for a bag of fried spuds, then I don’t want to discover that the contents of my “family size” package won’t feed even one mildly hungry preteen.

 

The more food prices have risen, the less I seem to find inside my cereal boxes, too. Didn’t the standard size cereal box used to hold 14 or 15 ounces? My Special K has 13.5 ounces, now. And it comes in a box that could probably hold at least 30% more. Ditto for my wheat crackers.

 

As a test, I pulled all three of these items, unopened, from my kitchen pantry. Then I emptied the containers into either gallon or quart size Ziplock bags. The photos below include ALL of the food volume from these packages.

 

 

 

A full box of cereal looks like this when transferred to a Ziplock bag.

 

 

A full box of crackers looks like this when transferred to a quart-size Ziplock bag.

 

 

 

A full bag of potato chips looks like this when transferred to a quart-size Ziplock bag.

 

And my cat looked like this when I was taking all these photos.

 

 

Yes, we need passage of the Truth in Packaging Law. But I’m thinking this law would have to exempt women’s undergarments. I’d hate to be restricted from deceptively “displaying my goods” in a push-up bra!

 

 

http://www.totallyskewed.com

http://www.franklyfunny.com

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under entertainment, food, humor, life, opinion, politics, Thoughts, women, writing

Leave a Reply

